Posted by: photographytuition | September 16, 2014

Skill or luck?

I’ve often thought about trying to photograph one of the swallow, house martin, swift type of birds.

Last week I was up a Welsh mountain and I surprisingly saw lots of house martins flying around so I thought I’d give it a go to photograph them.

I had a Nikon D7000 with a 70-200mm f4 lens – not exactly a lens for photographing birds. The main problem with photographing such tiny, fast moving birds as house martins is focusing. How do you focus? I’m not sure it’s possible and from my results I’d have to say it’s more by luck than skill. I say that because the photo below is my first shot when I wasn’t really concentrating and all the others, apart from one when I was trying hard were out of focus!

WIL_3093

 

D7000 with 70-200mm at 160mm. ISO 400, 1/1500sec at f6.7. Cropped.

On the same morning I took a shot of the mist clearing from the countryside below and this was used on BBC Wales TV later in the day.

WIL_3060

 

D7000 with 70-200mm at 160mm. ISO 200, 1/250 sec at f8. Exposure at +1/2 stop to keep the mist looking bright.

WIL_3045

I’m sure everyone’s had a go at photographing the moon. This is my very amateurish attempt just using a hand held D7000 with 70-200mm at 200mm. ISO 200, 1/250sec at f5.6. Exposure -1 stop. A 300mm lens or longer would be better and also the use of a tripod.

008

I came across this lovely sunken track recently. I’m sure there’s a photograph to be had but I don’t think this is it – I’ll have to go back again and take my DSLR next time. Sony RX100. Exposure -0.7 stop to keep it looking dark and moody.

DSC_1252

This photo of the sheep was taken looking into the setting sun. Nikon D600 with 70-200mm at 200mm. ISO 200, 1/4000sec at f5.6.

WIL_9808

This is a photo of a blackbird I took earlier in the year using my Nikon 300mm f4 lens on a D7000. This lens doesn’t have image stabilisation, or vibration reduction as Nikon calls it so I like to use a fast shutter speed to avoid camera shake. ISO 560, 1/4000sec at f4.8. Exposure -1/2 stop.

DSC_1420

This photo is of another visit to the sheep trekking farm in the Brecon Beacons. The sheep trekking is organised by Julia Blazer of Good Day Out – that’s Julia in the green. On this particular day BBC Radio Wales came along on the trek with us to interview everyone, except me, thankfully! That’s the BBC man interviewing the farmer and his daughter.

To contact me, Will Lewis: will@phonecoop.coop

http://www.willlewisphotography.co.uk

If you are interested in a photography course: http://www.photographytuition.co.uk

Good Day Out: http://www.gooddayout.co.uk

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

