Posted by: photographytuition | March 18, 2014

Nikon D600 recall/repair update

My Nikon D600 was sent to Nikon repairs in Kingston upon Thames, Surrey, UK  for a free fix of the ‘dust’ on sensor problem that has plagued all D600’s.

I sent the camera on 26th February and it was returned on 17th March. Incidentally I was given a delivery time of between midday and 1pm. It arrived at 6pm!

A note with the camera says they did a “Thorough cleaning of mirror box, mirror mechanism and sensor area. Performing precautionary measures to reduce entry/dispersion of dust particles.”

Parts fitted: 1F999-708, which I believe is a shutter plate unit.

I haven’t had a chance to check the camera over yet – if I have any problems at all I’ll let you know.

If you’d like to contact me:

will@phonecoop.coop

My websites:

http://www.willlewisphotography.co.uk

http://www.photographytuition.co.uk

Responses

  1. Hi
    I had the same problem with my D600, came back yesterday fitted with new part `1F999-708!
    Camera totally overhauled and checked, they refered me to page 301-305 of manual.
    I will wait and see if the problem is cured!!!!

    • Hi Mike,
      Best of luck with that.
      Seems like they’ll replace the camera if it’s the wrong sort of dust. Hard to tell.
      Will.


Leave a Reply

Categories

