Posted by: photographytuition | January 16, 2013

2013

A very belated Happy New Year.

Less time for blogs this year as I’m working on various photography projects; the first one of which was test driving, writing a review and photographing a Renault Twizy.

What’s a Renault Twizy?

WIL_1447

 

A Twizy is a funny looking tiny electric car/motorbike with 4 wheels. It’s like a motorbike because the rear passenger (it only holds two) sits with their legs astride the driver. Also there are no windows so it’s pretty blowy – especially not good for the passenger.

WIL_1482

 

What I liked about it were the light doors which opened upwards to give easy access for the driver. The passenger has to squeeze into the back.

In use the Twizy is pretty quiet apart from the road and wind noise. You need to think twice when coming up behind cyclists and walkers and assume they haven’t heard you. I even got within a few feet of a buzzard eating carrion at the side of a road – it simply hadn’t heard me!

WIL_1529

 

I drove the Twizy for two days in the Brecon Beacons along with friends of mine and we all decided that the rear seat was not much fun as it was too cold and windswept – I must add it was January! However with just one up it made a lot more sense as I could put my camera bag on the rear seat. You guessed it – there’s next to no storage room. So, as an urban shopping vehicle it only works with one person in it.

WIL_1558

 

Being electric the Twizy is only good for about 40 miles however I was impressed with the way it shot up hills. OK the battery life was badly affected but it generates power again going downhill and under braking.

All photos: Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens. Talybont and Llangorse areas of the Brecon Beacons.

Thanks to Brecon Beacons Holiday Cottages for loaning me the car.

To contact me: will@phonecoop.coop or see my website http://www.photographytuition.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Categories

