Posted by: photographytuition | September 6, 2012

Thank goodness summer’s over!

As soon as ‘summer’ finished and autumn began the weather improved dramatically! What a crazy climate we have.

The Tour of Britain cycle race comes through Mid Wales next Friday, Sept 14th. There are lots of photos of the cyclists tearing along the road but I’d like to get a shot from a high viewpoint showing the peloton in a beautiful Welsh Valley. Easier said than done!

I checked out the route and hiked up a mountain, fighting my way through chest high bracken to look for the perfect viewpoint. Unfortunately the valley below was wooded and useless if I wanted to get clear views of the cyclists.

I usually carry around a Nikon D7000 with a 16-85mm lens but because I was looking for distant shots of the cyclists I had my old D80 with a 70-300mm lens. This was a lucky break because out of nowhere appeared a Hercules aircraft coming down the valley below me! I wouldn’t have had time to change lenses. I very quickly set the camera up for a fast moving subject (high ISO and f5.6 to give me a fast shutter speed) and fired away.

Hercules aircraft, Mid Wales. Nikon D80 with 70-300mm lens at 255mm. ISO 800, 1/750th, f5.6. Exposure at -1/2 stop.

Hercules aircraft, Mid Wales. Nikon D80 with 70-300mm lens at 300mm. ISO 800, 1/750th, f5.6. Exposure -1/2 stop.

So I didn’t find a good viewpoint for the cycle race but it wasn’t a wasted morning.

Coincidentally I’d read an article in July’s Photography Monthly about people who’s hobby is photographing low flying aircraft. They find out where LFA are likely to go and sit and wait!  See http://www.michaelleek.co.uk for some great photos.

September morning, Mid Wales. Nikon D80 with70-300 at 70mm. ISO 259. 1/1000th second f8. Exposure at -1/2 stop.

Autumn is my favourite time of year – particularly the misty mornings we’re getting at the moment.

I run photography courses in the Brecon Beacons and Mid Wales. If you’d like to contact me email: will@phonecoop.coop, or Tel: 01497 847183 or see my website: http://www.photographytuition.co.uk 

For general commercial photography see http://www.willlewisphotography.co.uk

Responses

  1. I Really Love the top head image, very well done.
    did you do it your self?

    • Hi,
      Sorry it’s taken so long to get back to you.
      Is it the sheep photo that you’re talking about?
      All the photos on the site are mine and almost entirely without manipulation – I don’t have Photoshop.
      Will.


Leave a Reply

Categories

