Posted by: photographytuition | August 17, 2012

Computer crash.

I had a nasty shock early last week – my computer (a 4 year old Arbico computer) failed to work.

A message came up on the monitor saying that unplugging a USB lead might have caused the fault.

Phone calls to manufacturer, hours spent trying to follow instructions – seems I had a major, terminal hard drive failure!

I could have gone for a new hard drive but decided to get a new computer.

The last action involving a USB lead that I can remember doing was downloading photos from my Nikon P7100 – which went without any apparent hitch. Can pulling the USB lead out really cause a computer to fail big time?

Most of my photos and documents are doubly stored in 2 external hard drives and thanks to local computer wizard, Giles, other stuff  from the old computer was rescued, so things weren’t too bad. I’m just a bit behind with everything!

Isle of Skye from the Isle of Harris. Nikon D7000 with Nikon 300mm f4. ISO 200, 1/1000 second f8. Exposure -1/2 stop.

This photo is just for a bit of fun and to show how good the Nikon 300mm f4 lens is. This is a crop from a handheld shot when I was in Harris in the Outer Hebrides in June. The houses you can see are on Skye in the Inner Hebrides 20 miles away!

If you would like to know more about photography courses with me, Will Lewis, please see http://www.photographytuition.co.uk or email will@phonecoop.coop or give me a call on 01497  847183.

Leave a Reply

Categories

