Posted by: photographytuition | July 29, 2012

Lowepro Flipside 400 AW Backpack review.

I wanted a backpack to hold my D7000 with Nikon 300mm f4 attached and have room left for a raincoat, sandwiches etc. How well did the Lowepro Flipside 400 AW Backpack fit the bill?

Click on photos to enlarge.

Lowepro Flipside 400 AW backpack.

(Photo above taken with a Nikon D7000 + 300mm f4. All other photos taken with a Nikon P7100 compact camera).

I often go off hiking for the whole day so a camera backpack without extra space for food, drink, spare clothing etc is a non starter.

The Flipside 400 (there are bigger and smaller Flipsides available) comes with a large camera department….

Nikon D7000 with 300mm f4 attached, 16-85mm, 12-24mm, filters etc.

…and a small compartment for other items. It’s small but just about large enough if I use one of the drinks pockets on the side to stuff my rainmac into.

Small sandwich box almost fills the spare compartment.

I didn’t like the bulky waist straps. I found they got in the way, were too warm around the waist and were basically unnecessary.

Lowepro 400 with waist straps. (shoulder straps pushed back to give a better view)

I walked on the Pembrokeshire Coast Path with the waist straps hanging loose to see what it was like without them. After 7 hours I did them up to see if it felt any better. It didn’t, so I cut them off!

Lowepro 400 without the waist straps.

I know it seems mad but it really works better for me without the waist straps and after 3 months of solid use I’ve no regrets.

Anyone want some straps?!

The Flipside lid won’t stay open on it’s own which is a minor fault. More room here for lenscloth, memory cards etc.

The Flipside can carry a small tripod like a Manfrotto M-Y 732CY-A3RC1 but I wouldn’t like to try it with anything larger.

Lowepro Flipside 400 AW with Manfrotto tripod attached.

OVERALL:

Very well made and comfortable in use – I love it!

The Flipside comes in black or green. I bought mine from www.morrisphoto.co.uk for £85. They have a huge selection of bags and their service was excellent. I have no connection with this company.

If you would like to see the Lowepro bag or the Manfrotto tripod or try out any of the cameras or lenses mentioned in this blog you can by coming on one of my photography courses. See www.photographytuition.co.uk or contact me by email will@phonecoop.coop or call 01497 847183.

Leave a Reply

Categories

