Posted by: photographytuition | June 1, 2012

The Olympic Torch Relay

My daughter was lucky enough to be chosen to carry the Olympic Torch in Bridgend, South Wales. Here’s how I got on trying to photograph her!

Click on photos to enlarge.

If you look closely you can see her on the left. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 40mm. ISO 400, 1/1000 second, f8.

I arrived early to get a good position but the problem was the late arrivers just went in front of me and onto the road. I felt like saying “let me through, that’s my daughter” but I don’t think anyone would have believed me.

I took a Nikon D80 with a 70-300mm lens and a D7000 with a 16-85mm lens. The plan was to get a photo of her in the distance with the 70-300mm with her coming towards me. The problem was that she was following closely behind a media bus so long distance views weren’t possible.

There were thousands of people competing for a view and the only shot I got was by holding the camera way above my head.

After the run. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 30mm. ISO 400 1/750 sec f8.

Disappointed with my relay shots I ran after my daughter like a mad thing and caught up with her and took some better shots. Even then it wasn’t so easy as lots of people wanted their picture taken with her and the minders wanted to whisk her off.

Nikion D7000 with 16-85mm at 16mm. ISO 400, 1/125 sec f8, plus on camera fill-in flash.

My daughter ran in support of Tenovus, a local charity. The plan is to let them buy the torch off us at face value (£199) and they will then auction it off at a fund-raising dinner.

If she looks a bit tired it was because it was a very hot day, she ran uphill and for some reason she ran two legs! I was very proud of her.

Finally, Photography Tuition has a new vehicle. It’s great!

Nikon D7000 with Nikon 300mm f4. ISO 800, 1/750 sec, f4, -1/2 stop.

The photo of the Audi was taken in the late evening hence the need for the high ISO.

1/750 sec might seem unnecessarily fast but the 300mm f4 doesn’t have Vibration Reduction – come on Nikon, when are you going to update this lens?

I run photography courses in the Brecon Beacons and Mid Wales. If you would like to find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me, will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

