Posted by: photographytuition | April 18, 2012

Photography Tuition courses.

I’ve been very busy with photography tuition courses over Easter and got a bit behind with my blog. Rainy day today so a good time to catch up.

Bell tower and church, Pembridge. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 19mm. ISO 400, 1/750 sec f8.

Most of the courses I run involve going to the hills, lakes, reservoirs, waterfalls and wildlife of mid Wales but I also have the famous ‘black and white’ villages of Herefordshire on my doorstep. This ‘snap’ is of an unusual church in Pembridge. It is said that they built the bell tower first as a temporary measure but when they got around to completing the church they ran out of money or energy to build it into the church!

Old swallows nest now converted to a wrens nest. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 58mm. ISO 800, 1/60sec f5.3.

I like the way the wren has used the old swallows nest but I wonder what the swallow is going to say about it. Incidentally I saw my first swallow and heard my first cuckoo of the year over the weekend. I tried using the flash on the camera for the photo but it was much less clear than without – I’m not a great lover of flash photography except for use as a gentle, very gentle fill-in.

Female Sparrow Hawk. Nikon D7000 with Nikon 300mm f4 lens. ISO 800, 1/2000 sec f4.

I saw this Sparrow Hawk in my garden last night – quickly grabbed my camera and took some useless shots through my dirty windows. I managed to get this one shot before it flew off as I opened the back door.  There was no time for setting up the monopod and the light was poor. The photo is heavily sharpened and the shadows are lightened a bit – basically it’s not a very good shot!

If you would like to contact me email will@phonecoop.coop or if you are interested in coming on one of my courses see www.photographytuition.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Categories

