Posted by: photographytuition | March 15, 2012

Welsh ponies

I love photographing Welsh ponies. Around here there are wild ones roaming the hills and lots of pony trekking ponies in the fields.

Aaah! Nikon D80 with 16-85mm lens at 68mm. ISO 400, 1/250 sec f8. Exposure at -1/2 stop.

By reducing the exposure by 1/2 stop I’ve managed to get deeper, richer tones in the ponies coats.

As in all my photographs I do the absolute minimum of photo editing and definitely no Photoshop – I don’t even have it!

Sunset pony. Nikon D80 with 16-85mm lens at 48mm. ISO 200, 1/500 sec f5.6. Picture quality set to vivid.

This photo above was taken on a very cold but beautiful winters evening as the sun was going down. The pony stood in this position for quite a while and actually seemed to enjoying the sunset.

Autumn on the hills. Nikon D80 with 16-85mm lens at 85mm. ISO 200, 1/250 sec f8. Picture quality set to vivid.

In the photo above I put the camera on a vivid setting. This is to enhance the autumn colours and make the ponies stand out a bit more. I actually think the vivid setting is a bit too strong but equally the default setting is a bit too dull.

I’m not a great lover of the millions of options available on my new Nikon D7000 but it does allow me to set precisely the colour settings I want.

Same ponies, different view. Nikon D80 with 16-85mm lens at 30mm. ISO 200, 1/250 sec f8. Exposure +1/2 stop to keep the mist looking bright.

 

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 52mm. ISO 200, 1/350 sec f8. Exposure +1/2 stop.

Snow can often look a bit grey if you leave it up to the exposure meter hence the + 1/2 stop in the above photo.

If you would like to photograph wild Welsh ponies why not join me on one of my courses.

See  www.photographytuition.co.uk  or email me : will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

