Posted by: photographytuition | January 31, 2012

Colour or black and white photographs?

I shoot everything in colour.

When I look through the photos on my computer I sometimes convert one or two of them to black and white but I find it really hard to judge whether the black and white version is ‘better’ than the colour one. It’s subjective of course. Have a look at these examples below.

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm lens at 38mm. ISO 200, 1/500 second f8.

The photo above is as it came out of the camera. It was a very cold, slightly misty morning.

Same photo as before but converted to black and white.

Same photo but this time with a little added colour.

The changes to the photographs were made in Nikon’s View NX2 – the program that came with the Nikon D7000 – very basic and very quick – just how I like it! I don’t use Photoshop.

So we have 3 photos, all the same but different. Which one do I like? I like them all. Cue for a Harry Hill “fight? !”

Which is best? I’ve no idea! I look at each of them and like them all. It’s possible I’ll look at them again in a month’s time and not like any of them.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

