Posted by: photographytuition | December 28, 2011

Photographs of Ice and frozen puddles

I love getting out on crisp, sunny days in winter and photographing the ice in frozen puddles.

Often the White Balance will need to be changed to correct for too much blue light – apart from that the photography side of things is pretty straight forward – usually!

I take all my pictures in colour but quite often ice shots look best in black and white. I edit using Picture Project which came with my old Nikon D80. I still think Picture Project is better than the editing programme (View NX2) that came with my new D7000. For the black and white shot, (the 3rd photo), I’ve increased the contrast to make the ice patterns stand out more.

Love! Nikon D80 with 16-85 lens at 85mm. ISO 200, 1/1000sec f8. WB (White Balance) Auto -1.

Panasonic Lumix FX01 compact camera. 1/500sec f5.6. Exposure +.7

Nikon D80 with 18-70 lens at 62mm. ISO 320, 1/180 sec f5.6. Exposure -1 stop. Converted to black and white.

Jaws! Nikon D80 with 16-85mm lens at 25mm. ISO 200, 1/350 sec f8. Exposure +.5 stop.

You are very welcome to join one of my Photography Tuition sessions – I don’t promise ice but do promise fantastic scenery.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

