Posted by: photographytuition | November 9, 2011

Portmeirion village, north Wales.

I went and stayed in Portmeirion last week – a unique and extraordinary place – a photographers dream especially at dusk and sunset.

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 38mm. ISO 200. 1/90 sec f8. Exposure - 1/2 stop.

Portmeirion was built between 1925 and 1975 to resemble an Italian village. The photo above shows most of the village – almost all the buildings are available for self catering – at a price!

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 40mm. ISO 3200, 1/20 sec f4.8. Exposure -1 stop.

Evening shot showing some of the wacky colours tha are found in the village. You can probably guess I didn’t have my tripod with me. If I had I certainly wouldn’t be using ISO 3200!

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 38mm. ISO 400, 1/90 sec f8. Exposure -1 stop.

Portmeirion isn’t just fancy buildings, shops and cafes – there’s 70 acres of sub-tropical gardens as well.

It’s interesting to see how often I reduce the exposure in my shots. Dark scenes are best kept dark and the tendency is for the camera to lighten dark scenes.

Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 16mm. ISO 800, 1/180 sec f8. Exposure -1 stop.

I might have been better using a smaller aperture for greater depth of field however with the lens set at a very wide 16mm I probably got away with it. (Wide angle lenses have inherently more depth of field).  For a better quality image with marginally less ‘noise’ (blotchiness)  I should have used ISO 400 and 1/90 sec at f8. With the Image Stabiliser on and such a wide angle lens camera shake shouldn’t be an issue.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me:  will@phonecoop.coop

Responses

  1. Even great photographers need a holiday. very high quality holiday pix.

  2. I never would have guessed where you were. Looks like a very interesting place.


Leave a Reply

Categories

