Posted by: photographytuition | October 21, 2011

What is the best camera?

I’m often asked by Photography Tuition students what the best camera is or what camera should I buy? I’d have to say that pretty much all cameras now are very good but that wasn’t the case a few years ago.

The progress with digital cameras has been dramatic – screens, battery life, picture quality have all improved greatly. If you have an old (pre 2007) digital single lens reflex (DSLR) camera or compact camera take a look at the latest models.

My style of photography, and what I teach, (see www.photographytuition.co.uk) is to get the image right, in the camera. For this you need a good quality screen to view the image on. Small, low contrast screens with poor colours make it very difficult to judge the image and consequently difficult to know what changes to make.

I get to use just about every camera on tuition. If I don’t know the camera I’ll look it up online and check out it’s features and controls and its strong and weak points. All the current crop are excellent and whilst I’m a lifelong Nikon user I wouldn’t put anyone off buying another make. I hear Canon are pretty good at making cameras!

Going back to the question – take a look at all the cameras or at least check out the reviews online. www.dpreview.com is excellent or Google the name of the camera you are interested in and follow it with the word review.

Don’t be put off by terms such as ‘beginner’ or ‘starter’ camera – even the bottom of the range DSLR’s are highly engineered, amazing bits of kit which produce great results. In fact the bottom of the range cameras (like the Nikon 3100) offer the best value and are also usually the smallest lightest cameras in the range.

Compact system cameras? I’m not keen on at the moment but I’ll keep an open mind – it’s early days yet.

Compact cameras? How do you choose?! So many out there and they change models so frequently. Maybe the place to start would be to pick a top manufacturer of compacts, like Canon or Panasonic and carefully research their products until you find one that suits. See www.cameras.co.uk for lots of very helpful reviews. My choice for a serious compact camera: Canon G12.

Elan Valley. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 19mm. ISO 400, 1/60 sec f6.7.

The photo above was taken yesterday – the autumn colours are getting better but still haven’t reached their peak yet.

Elan Valley. Nikon D7000 with 16-85mm at 16mm. ISO 200, 1/45 sec f 9.5.

Another photo taken yesterday in the Elan Valley. I used f9.5 for good depth of field. Both photos were hand held.

Finally: I saw a rare humming bird hawk moth last week. I was cutting my lawn at the time and didn’t have my camera handy so no photo!

You can book a Photography Tuition session any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

