Posted by: photographytuition | September 16, 2011

An American photographer in Wales

I had the great pleasure in taking Gretchen Hayhurst out a couple of times this week on photography trips. I’d like to think Gretchen, who comes from Oregon, USA, came to me for my world renown photography teaching skills however I suspect it was because I had a car and she wanted ferrying around!

Gretchen Hayhurst and me on the Black and White village trail, Weobley, Herefordshire. Photo by Doris Cruickshank.

Gretchen is a very accomplished and enthusiastic photographer. Her kit includes a full frame digital SLR camera and lenses, an old 6cm x 6cm film camera (Hasselblad) and a really compact, pinhole camera. What’s more she insists on carrying it all herself! And she gets up at 4-30am to catch the sunrise, goes out to catch the sunset and never seems to eat!

It’s worth taking a look at Gretchens pinhole shots. Google Gretchen Hayhurst and click on BBC Viewfinder, Let the Light In, World Pinhole Day. Further down the BBC page is a link to more of Gretchen’s work.

Gretchen in Weobley. Nikon D7000 ISO 200. 16-85mm lens at 16mm. 1/350sec f8.

You can book a Photography Tuition session any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Responses

  1. Hey, how can you say that? It wasn’t just your car that attracted me to you…wink wink…I really did appreciate your insight and remember I am holding my camera differently and checking my screen more. And I’ll eat when I have time.
    Seriously, thank you so much for the kind words and the help with my photography.


Leave a Reply

Categories

