Posted by: photographytuition | August 12, 2011

Setting up your camera

When I take people out on Photography Tuition it surprises me how often I find their basic camera set up is wrong.

The most common mistake is with Image Quality or Image Size.

Image Quality for JPEG’s: best set to ‘fine’. I often find this set to ‘normal’.

Image Size: best set to ‘large’. Just this week I found someones camera set to ‘small’ so the camera was set to using only 2m pixels out of a possible 10m.

To my mind if you’ve paid for a high quality product you might as well get the max out of it.  You’ll end up getting camera phone standard snaps otherwise.

The ‘finer’ and ‘larger’ settings use up more space on the memory card but prices for cards are so reasonable now I don’t think that’s an issue.

I’ve also seen a camera where the White Balance has been set to ‘sunny’ causing lots of strangely coloured photos!

It’s worth checking through your cameras menu and making sure that you’re using the best settings.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge!

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

