Posted by: photographytuition | July 29, 2011

Simple photo editing

For the first time ever I’ve actually done some image editing!

A few evenings ago I went up into the hills above Hay on Wye and took some photos of wild ponies. One of the ponies had been booted out of the herd – lots of kicking and screaming. He looked so sad and I think I’ve captured that in the shot.

Problem was there was a great big hair on the sensor leaving a horrible mark on the photo. I’ve never had to do photo editing before as I believe in getting the image right, in the camera. However this photo needed fixing.

Photograph before editing. The hair is to the left and above the ponies head.

I looked online for free photo editing programs and found lots of conflicting and confusing advice. I thought I’d better double check what programs I had on my computer before downloading something. I opened up a photo in Windows Photo Gallery, clicked on ‘open’ and found ‘paint’. Bingo! Paint brushes, airbrushes – just what I wanted.

Nikon D80 ISO 320. 16-85mm at 85mm. 1/750sec f8. Exposure -1.

It’s not a perfect fix but I am only a beginner!

Note:

It worries me that I could have gone on a job, taking hundreds of photos, all with a hair on the sensor. Memo to self: check for dirt on sensor before every job.

The way I check for a dirty sensor is to set the aperture to something like f32 and point it at a light coloured wall. I wave the camera around during the long exposure – the dirt on the sensor remains looking sharp. I then zoom in on playback to check for dirt. Maybe I shouldn’t but I ignore tiny grey specks.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge.

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

