Posted by: photographytuition | July 4, 2011

Hay-on-Wye Walking Festival

I was asked to provide photos for the front and back covers for the Hay on Wye Walking  Festival brochure (October 7th to 9th). They wanted a portrait view of Hay Bluff – the hill overlooking Hay. At this time of year the light can be hazy and lacking in ‘atmosphere’ during the middle of the day so I planned to go to the Bluff in the morning and if necessary in the evening. Hay Bluff isn’t a particularly striking looking hill so I knew I’d have to find a way of making it more interesting. As I was driving up to Hay Bluff I saw a group of wild ponies. I quickly parked the car, grabbed my gear and followed after them. Luckily they wandered closer to Hay Bluff and I was getting some reasonable shots. They settled down in a little valley which gave me time to catch my breath and take some more shots. I waited to see what their next move would be to see if I could get better shots. Eventually they started drifting towards me and I snapped away getting, hopefully , the cover picture for the brochure.

Hay Bluff. Nikon D80. ISO 250. 16-85 lens at 26mm. 1/500sec f8.

UPDATE: My photos were used for the front and rear covers of the Hay on Wye Walking Festival brochure and leaflet and other promotional material.

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge.

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

