Posted by: photographytuition | June 29, 2011

Nikon 300mm f2.8G ED VR11 + TC-17E11 Teleconverter

Nikon D80 ISO 400. Nikon 300 f2.8 + TC-17 1/350sec at f5.6. Monopod.

I took this photo of a sparrow in my garden. The quality is amazing considering it’s taken with a teleconverter. Apart from the superb optical quality what’s really impressive about the 300mm is the speed of focusing – it rapidly snaps into focus – great for wildlife photography.

Comparisons with my Nikon 70-300mm f4.5-f5.6G VR lens are, of course ridiculous. The 300 f2.8 is miles superior but then it ought to be for ten times the price! If you want top quality then this is the lens for you.

The 70-300 is a great little lens that I’d happily carry around all day when tracking wildlife – something I’d never do with the 300 f2.8.

The truth is I don’t feel comfortable with the 300 f2.8 – £4000 worth of delicate lens – I’m petrified I’m going to drop it!

There is another option: Nikon’s 300mm f4. This, I reckon, is the perfect compromise. Reviews suggest that optically it performs very well. It’s loads cheaper and lighter than the 300 f2.8 and is definitely on my wish list once I’ve sold the almost new 300mm  f2.8. Serious offers considered.

There is one thing Nikon will have to do before I buy the 300 f4 though – fit it up with VR (vibration reduction) – what are they waiting for?

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge.

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

