Posted by: photographytuition | June 17, 2011

Welcome to Photography Tuition Blog!

Hi and welcome to my new photography blog.

I’ll write regularly about anything to do with photography. Let me know what you think.

Just a little background – I’m a pro photographer of many years working mainly in archaeology. Now I run photo courses.

My interests are wildlife and landscapes.

I don’t believe it’s necessary to have the latest camera or the most expensive lenses to get great photos but secretly I’d like to have them all!

I recently read that Nikons 300mm f2.8G ED VRII was their best lens. Curiosity and madness got the better of me and I bought one! I’ll use it for a while then probably sell it – I said I was mad – open to serious offers.

This is a real world test of the 300mm f2.8 – no graphs, no resolution charts.

I don’t have links to shops and I’m not selling advertising space  so you can be sure my comments are genuine and unbiased.

NIKON 300mm f2.8G ED VRII. Is it worth £4000?

I’ve got a trusty old Nikon 70-300mm f4.5-5.6G  VR that I’ve used loads, mainly for wildlife shots. How does this £400 lens compare with the £4000 one?

The first thing that hits you is the sheer size and weight of the 300 f2.8: 2900g as against 745g for the 70-300. The lens case + lens hood for the 300 f2.8 weighs nearly as much as the 70-300 lens!

This isn’t a lens you’d happily carry around all day. Nor is it easily hand holdable. A monopod is essential. I bought a Giottos GTMML 3260B monopod (£30) with a Manfrotto monopod quick release tilthead (£27). Incidentally the Manfrotto head is only meant for weights up to 2500g so I’ll have to be careful.Using the monopod makes things so much easier.

My final purchase was a Nikon TC-17E II teleconverter (£320). This only works with fast lenses like the f2.8 300mm as it causes a loss of one and a half stops converting the lens to a 510mm f4.8.

Teleconverters are a cheap, light, convenient way of making a lens longer – the downside is a loss of quality but much less so than they used to – apparently – we’ll see.

                                                                                                                                                                                     
TC-17 E II AF-S Teleconverter,
70-300 f4.5/5.6 G VR
300mm f2.8G VRII
The 300 f2.8 weighs nearly 4 times as much as the 70-300mm!

You can book a Photography Tuition session for any day of the week, any month of the year. Nikon cameras and lenses are available for use, free of charge.

To find out more see www.photographytuition.co.uk or email me will@phonecoop.coop

Leave a Reply

Categories

